See our reviews on

Back To Top

Select Your Diamond

Diamonds are appreciated for their quality, size, and clarity. Learn how to buy a diamond from the GALLERY DIAMOND diamond buying guide.

How to Buy a Diamond

A jeweller who is a diamond specialist and should be able to guide you with all the information you request about the 4c's of a diamond, is the one who will help you in your diamond deal. He owes to give you all the necessary explanations about the different diamond values and to enlighten you with comparative elements about the price differences.

Do not try to make a bargain when buing a diamond. As far as diamonds are concerned, you get what you pay for, and for sure quality costs.

When it comes the time to buy your diamond it's important to pay attention to the following:
  • You want to be assured of quality

  • You want to trust that you are paying fair market value

  • You want to see a broad product variety so you can make comparisons

  • You want to gather as much information as you can and get honest answers to all your questions

  • You want to be assured of good after sales service

  • You want proper certification for your diamond Trust your jeweller.

Trust your jeweller.

The Decision:

How much should I spend for buing a diamond?

Whatever you buy it is sure that as time passes, it will loose it value. In comparison the diamond you have purchased is the right investement for your money, since as time passes, its value increases or at least remains steady, despite its size and the shape of the ring where is is set.

KNOWING THE 4Cs of a Diamond

The term 4Cs is referring to the initials of Carat, Clarity, Color, and Cut. The internationally recognized criteria for the valuation of the quality and estimation of the value of a diamond are known worldwide as 4Cs


Carat is the internationally used measure unit, which determines the weight of a diamond, giving us at the same time an indication of its size. One carat equals 1/5 of a gram and is divided in 100 cents. Thus a 25 cents diamond equals 1/4 of a carat or 0,25 carats. In the following table, you can see the approximate proportion between carats.

Read More


Attention! The sizes of the images above are indicative, so please consider the millimeter base.

Perfect quality Diamonds can be found in all different carats

The price of a diamond is related to its weight in carats. Big differences in diamond weight, give big price differences between them. For example a diamond of 0.98ct could save you a serious amount of money comparing to one of 1.03ct, because according to the international rapaport list they are belonging in different price evaluation categories.

Two diamonds of equal cts, can have different values depending on their cut, color and clarity.


Tiny particles of carbon and other elements, that have not been crystallized, are included in almost every diamond. In most diamonds, these traces are not visible with naked eye and they can only be seen with a loupe (magnifying 10x achromat-aplanat loupe).

Read More


These "inclusion" determine the identity of each precious stone and its uniqueness. The smaller the number or "inclusions" the better the clarity of a diamond and consequently its rarity and value.

This is why you should be aware of the clarity scale before you decide to buy your diamond.


If you have your diamond from our diamond inventory , please Request a copy of your Certificate.

This diamond is considered in the clarity scale to be a: VVS2

  • VVS1-VVS2 (two grades)

    Very Very Small Inclusions. Inclusions very difficult to detect under 10x magnification by a trained eye of a gemologist.


  • FL

    Flawless: No internal or external flaws. Extremely rare.

  • IF

    Internally Flawless: no internal flaws, but some surface flaws. Very rare.

  • VVS1-VVS2 (two grades)

    Very Very Small Inclusions. Inclusions very difficult to detect under 10x magnification by a trained eye of a gemologist.

  • VS1-VS2 (two grades)

    Very Small Inclusions. Inclusions difficult to detect under 10x magnification.

  • SI1-SI2 (two grades)

    Small Inclusions. Inclusions more easily detected under 10x magnification.

I1-I2-I3 (three grades)

  • I1 Inclusions can be very difficult detected by a trained naked eye. Brilliance of the diamond is not effected.

  • I2 Inclusions can be difficult detected by a trained naked eye. Brilliance of the diamond is slight effected.

  • I3 Inclusions immediately detected by naked eye. Brilliance is really bad effected.

We do not recommend buying diamonds in any of these grades.


Diamonds with VVS and VS grades are excellent choices for both value and appearance.

More affordable (and still a great choice) are those diamonds which gemologists call "eye-clean" - diamonds with no inclusions visible to the naked eye. These diamonds are SI1 and SI2 and unless the recipient carries a 10X loupe (a strong jewelry magnifying glass), she won't see the inclusions.



The color scale in diamond color grading, starts from the total luck of any color D (exceptional white +) and ends to Z (very dark yellow). The value of a diamond gets higher, as it reaches at the scale the point of Exceptional white +. When a diamond contains stronger yellow color in bigger quantity than Z, it is being classified under the category of NATURAL FANCY DIAMONDS.NFC diamonds are really rare and therefore they are very expensive.

Read More


The difference between one color grade and another is very subtle, particularly to the untrained eye. Yellow shades reduces the value of a diamond to the contrary colorless diamonds are climbing in price range.


Additional from D to Z where a colorless diamond is graduated there are in nature diamonds in all colors of the spectrum known as NATURAL FANCY COLOR diamonds. NFC diamonds are really rare and therefore they are very expensive. This is a special category of diamonds with colors that vary from pink to red, green, blue, yellow, brown even black. More rare are the red diamonds, followed by the green, blue, violet and brown ones.


The classic way to cut a diamond, is the so called "brilliant" a cut with 57 facets (58 with the cullet). This type of cut enhances the diamonds brightness and "fire" in the best possible way. This optic effect is known as the "brilliance" of the diamond. Since most diamonds are cut in the form of "Brilliant", people tend to confuse the diamond with the "Brilliant" cut.

Read More


Diamonds are fashioned into a number of shapes, depending on the nature of the rough stone. The eight most popular shapes are Round, Marquise, Pear, Oval, Emerald, Princess, Radiant, and Heart.

The choice is largely a matter of personal taste. Whatever your preference, a well cut diamond is the work of a master diamond cutter, since it is the cut that enables the diamond to reflect light, creating scintillation and sparkle.

Every diamond regardless of its shape gets it brilliancy and scintillation by cutting and polishing the diamond facets to allow the maximum amount of light that enters through its top to be reflected and dispersed back through its top.

If you are having a diamond mounted, write down the measurements of your stone. Measurements never change.

Measure the stone after it is mounted and verify that it matches the certificate.

Welcome to
Gallery Diamond London
We are pleased to welcome you in the sparkling world of GD .Please fill in your email address for all GD activities, new entries, special offers!